top of page
Home: Blog2
Search

Interview with 'BECKY' star Lulu Wilson


Photo of actress Lulu Wilson from horror movie BECKY

We had an opportunity to throw some questions at the brilliant actress Lulu Wilson (Annabelle: Creation, The Haunting of Hill House, HBO's "Sharp Objects", Ouija: Origin of Evil) about the horror movie business and her new film BECKY.


BECKY was the #1 film at the box office for new releases and released in theaters, drive-ins, on digital and on-demand, June 5th, 2020. Track this film down asap!


MoreHorror: Do you personally enjoy watching horror movies? If so, what are some of your favorite horror films?

Lulu Wilson: I absolutely love watching horror movies. I don’t think I would love doing them so much if I didn’t also love watching them. My favorite horror movie is hands down Midsommar. I’ve been a huge Ari Aster fan since Hereditary but I found that I enjoyed Midsommar much more. I just love how nothing paranormal happens. It’s just humans being deranged in broad daylight and Florence Pugh decked out in flowers as she’s burning her boyfriend.

MH: Did anything, in particular, draw you to the horror genre as an actress?

LW: At first I just fell into it. I was that cute little girl with the blonde bob, rosy cheeks, and blue eyes that you see in almost all horror movies. But as I grew up, I realized that I could be so much more and the whole horror genre could be so much more too. A horror movie doesn’t only have to be scary to fit into the genre. It can be funny, dramatic, romantic even! And that’s the best part. Along with the intricate and terrifying makeup, props, and set dec of course.

MH: Do you feel that you are an actresses who will want to continue acting or do you see yourself retiring early and moving onto something else?

LW: I always picture myself in the business when I’m older but not necessarily acting. I’ve always wanted to be a writer and director. To be behind the camera for a change and be able to use my creativity to build a whole world has always been a dream of mine.

MH: How do you get into character for an intense role like Becky?

LW: Music is my favorite way of getting prepared and I found that with Becky in particular, it was incredibly helpful. I would find the quietest area on set and blast Mother Mother songs at full volume. Their music is filled with heavy breathing, random screams, and violin solos like make your skin crawl. It was perfect. The songs that really helped me get into that deranged teenage mindset were Body, Oh Ana, and Little Pistol which are all by Mother Mother.

MH: What have you been doing to keep busy during this crazy pandemic?

LW: I’ve been writing a lot and trying not to get too lazy or stay inside for days at a time. I go for long bike rides through my neighborhood and listen to music a little too loud. And I may be doing just a little too much online shopping.

MH: Have most of your experiences in the movie industry been positive?

LW: Definitely. I also find that even if the work on set is difficult and taxing or I can’t seem to get along with everyone on set, I always find crew or cast members that I can talk to and hang out with despite not getting along with everyone. But the majority of my experiences have been far better than just positive.

MH: How was playing Becky different than your previous roles?

LW: Becky is the toughest, most deranged, and smartest character I have ever been lucky enough to play. She doesn’t run from danger and no one has to save her. She handles the problem in her own genius way and isn’t scared to fight. She wants to fight. She’s not a fragile little girl needing to be saved. She’s determined on making it out alive and having fun along the way. I have been obsessed with her since I first read the script when I was 11.

BECKY TRAILER:

BECKY SYNOPSIS: Spunky and rebellious, Becky (Lulu Wilson) is brought to a weekend getaway at a lake house by her father Jeff (Joel McHale) in an effort to try to reconnect. The trip immediately takes a turn for the worse when a group of convicts on the run, led by the merciless Dominick (Kevin James), suddenly invade the lake house.

Contact More Horror

MoreHorror.com
855 Portola Drive

Monterey, California 93940

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Thanks for submitting!

Home: Contact
bottom of page